Home About Us RWFL Branch Managers Login Contact Us
About us
The Programme
My First Session
Branch Managers Login
Emergency Response
Success Stories
Articles of Interest
Athletics Club
Franchise Application
Gear for Life
Members Login
Contact Us

Rustenburg Honours their members at their year end function
Pictured above are all the Run/Walk For Life Rustenburg Trophy Winners and in the picture in the bottom right corner is the Club Champions, Leilani Scheffer and Johnny Young with guest of honour 5000m olympic Athlete, Elroy Gelant.
Francien cleans up at Kempton
Pictured above is Francien Smit from our Kempton Park Branch with Ray Bienedell Group Operations Director Run/Walk For Life. At the 2016 annual Kempton Park award ceremony Francien was a finalist in the following catagories- The Extra Mile Award, Best Staff Member Award, Top Walker Award and the winner in the Top Kilometers of the year award and the Kempton Honours Award.
Lonehill Am Honours it's 2016 Top Performers
During a glittering breakfast held at the Merrowdown Country Club the top performers of the Lonehill Am branch were honoured. Pictured above is the Lonehill Member of the Year Lynn van Marcke with manager Beth Hamman and Operations Director Ray Bienedell.
Grocery Shopping for the Festive Season: The Perfect Trolley
By: Ashleigh Smith
Date: December 2016

The Festive season is upon us… Shops decorated with Christmas decorations and carols playing in the background to Christmas memes stating 6 weeks till Christmas. The year is slowly winding down with everyone getting ready for the holidays. It is always a time of family, fun and food. But instead of picking up an extra 5 kg’s over the festive season, choosing what goes into your trolley will go a long way to prevent this.  Here are some foods that are not only delicious but highly nutritious.

Whatever you eat for breakfast, whether it’s boiled eggs and avo, fruit and yoghurt or your favourite FUTURELIFE® product, make sure you include breakfast this festive season.  Including a meal in the morning will keep you feeling fuller for longer, which will stop you from grabbing one of those mince pies or candy canes that stare at you while waiting in the queue to pay. Shopping on an empty stomach is never a great idea as you tend to buy things you usually wouldn’t. 
Berries…blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, goji berries, blackberries or cherries, fresh or frozen, these highly nutritious fruit are in season and readily available this Christmas. They are known as some of the world’s healthiest foods and have often been referred to as superfoods. Berries contain high levels of phytochemicals, which are naturally occurring nutrients that help protect cells from damage. It is said that because of these phytochemicals, including berries in your diet can reduce your risk of heart disease, cancer and mental decline. Berries are also high in fibre, packed with vitamins and minerals and contain less sugar than most fruit. Besides eating them plain, add them to salads, oats, and smoothies or make homemade fruit ice lollies. Add berries to yoghurt for a highly nutritious, lower calorie dessert . 

Nuts are tiny packages that contain a multitude of beneficial nutrients. They are packed full of healthy fats and omega 3 (which are important for heart health and lowering cholesterol), fibre, Vitamin E and plant sterols which are promoted for their cholesterol lowering properties too. When choosing nuts, opt for those that are unsalted, raw or dry roasted, try steer clear of the salted versions as they contain a lot of sodium. They are great as on-the-go snacks, added to salads or smoothies, even use them to substitute crisps when having the family over this festive season. But remember they are still high in energy, therefore watch your portion, 1 small handful is enough!

I don’t know about you, but my family never ate turkey at Christmas time. So the first time I tasted it, I was pleasantly surprised. Turkey is slightly leaner than chicken, and has a different flavour. It contains B vitamins, phosphorus, potassium, iron, zinc and selenium. Like chicken, turkey contains all the essential amino acids that your body needs. As it is similar to chicken, turkey can be used as a great chicken substitute just to add some variety to your Christmas spread.

Although we all hate to admit it, Christmas lunch or dinner is just not the same without potato. So this festive season, instead of including normal potato, switch it up for its more nutritious cousin, the sweet potato. These tuberous roots are packed with fibre, vitamin A, vitamin C as well as minerals, calcium and potassium. Steamed, boiled, roasted or baked these starchy vegetables are a great addition to your meals this festive season.

Filling up your trolley with delicious fruits and vegetables is a great way to fill up your plate without adding the extra calories. Instead of just your stock standard roasted or boiled vegetables, experiment with salads this summer. Salads have great texture, and are very attractive as they are often colourful and flavourful. Nutritional benefits include high in fibre, vitamins and minerals as well as antioxidants. Here are some easy steps to creating a world class salad. 
Choose your base e.g. spinach, rocket or type of lettuce etc., 
Add vegetables of your choice, remember by including different colours it ensures you get different vitamin and mineral profiles  e.g. onion, sugar snap peas, corn, peppers, carrots, celery, radish, long stem broccoli etc. 
Add your healthy fats e.g. seeds, avocado, olives etc. 
Then add a lean protein e.g. smoked chicken, cottage cheese, boiled           eggs, tuna or salmon, chickpeas, beans or quinoa etc. 
Don’t forget about the fruit e.g. berries, apple, pear, grapes,                  pomegranate seeds or berries etc. 
Next add your favourite dressing, steer clear of those creamy dressings as they add extra calories. Then voila, you have a delicious salad!


Why don’t you try the FUTURELIFE® Smart Drinks this festive season? They’re low in fat and milk-based, containing 50 nutrients, including 20 vitamins and minerals and 18 amino acids. They are also a source of calcium and protein and contain less sugar than many of the other products on the shelves or in the fridges that often appear during these festivities. These drinks are available in 3 flavours: vanilla caramel, milky chocolate, and strawberry & banana. So if you are on the run between present shopping, or want something quick and easy after exercise, grab one of the Clover® FUTURELIFE® Smart Drinks in the refrigeration section of your nearest supermarket.

For more meal plans, smoothie recipes and more information on the FUTURELIFE® product range please visit our website at www.futurelife.co.za.

1. http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/heart-disease/in-depth/nuts/art-20046635?pg=1
2. http://www.theleangreenbean.com/spice-it-up-salad-topping-idea/
3. http://www.care2.com/greenliving/9-reasons-to-love-sweet-potatoes.html
4. http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/heart-disease/in-depth/nuts/art-20046635
5. http://www.mensfitness.com/nutrition/what-to-eat/fit-food-the-benefits-of-turkey

Running and Walking Clubs as a Business

Are you looking for a part-time business . . . Doing what you love?  Run/Walk For Life has franchise opportunities available Nationally – at little or no cost to the right applicants.  For further information contact Matthew 011 367 9400 or matthew@rwfl.co.za

Comrades 2016
Here is our Comrades 2016 Memories Video...

Please follow this link




South Africa Namibia
USA Australia United Kingdom

Edgars Club